cassette magazine

[hosted archive]

Volume 5: June 1981

The fifth volume of Fast Forward saw this tape-zine growing in length. This issue includes material on a range of mostly Australian artists. There's music by Scattered Order, and an interview with Brisbane group Xero featuring unreleased versions of some of their songs. There's a revealing interview with the editor of then-vital UK music paper New Musical Express. For a surprise, check out the band lineup at the new venue in track 9.

Click on track titles to download individual mp3s, or download the entire issue (145 Mb).

The artwork had by this issue evolved into a something approaching a fully-fledged magazine. This is where a lot of the useful information about the early 80s scene is contained. Click the thumbnails to read the zine, and get ready to use your 'zoom' tool.

  1. Stuart Beatty - 'Theme Track'
  2. Introduction
  3. Dorian Gray - 'The Children Of Sombre Town'
  4. Scattered Order - 'I'm Not Whole'
  5. The Informatics - 'Hungry Pets'
  6. Johnny Topper - 'Did You Know'
  7. Interview with Neil Spencer (Editor of NME)
  8. (Impatient) Youth - 'This Is The Front Line'
  9. Dorland Gray & Margo O'Neil - 'A Right Royal Ruckas'
  10. Johnny Topper - 'The Case Of The Missing Leave It To Beaver (Part 2)'
  11. Interview with Equal Local (including tracks 'Widespread & Barren' and 'Wasted')
  12. Dance Set - 'Nothing's Gonna Break Us Apart'
  13. Johnny Topper - 'Did You Know'
  14. Interview with Xero (including tracks 'Girls', '24D Pelaco' & 'Strangers, Immigrants And Bandits')
  15. Outro
  16. Theme Track